On-line Databases

MAGNOLIA


MAGNOLIA databases, which are provided through the funding of the Mississippi State Legislature, are readily available for all patrons.  These on-line databases provide up-to-date informational, authoritative articles from both popular and educational periodicals. Most of the Ebsco databases available through MAGNOLIA are accessible both from the library computers as well as personal computers.  These are accessible by going to: http://library.msstate.edu/magnolia/public and clicking on the name of the public library. Then find your public library branch.  You will be asked for a login and the login for all of the branches in this system is: magn1215.


LearningExpress

LearningExpress is an on-line database available through the public access computers.  This particular database gives the patron access to numerous test preparations that include GED preparation; ACT and SAT prep; GRE; civil service exam prep; math skills and many more.  These self-study tests are paced to the individual and are free to access through the public library.

 

Oxford African American Database

Through the Dancing Rabbit Library Consortium, we are also offering the Oxford African American Database.  You may access this by going to:  http://www.oxfordaasc.com/. 

 

 

Westlaw

The Bolivar County Bar Association maintains a computer with the WestLaw database for use by local and visiting attorneys.  This computer is located at the Robinson-Carpenter Memorial Library in Cleveland.

 

 

World Book Online

Bolivar County Library System subscribes to World Book Online for its patrons to access from a computer inside the library or from a home computer.  To access from outside the library, go to  World Book Online and enter your library card number.

 

 

The BCLS also subscribes to the AncestryPlus and Heritage Quest Databases

for genealogical research.  These are only accessible at the library.

 

 

 

Return to Services Page